Dr. Seagren And Student Tim Moore Awarded 2005 Rudolph Hering Medal


Prof. Eric Seagren and his former M.S. student, Tim Moore, were awarded the 2005 Rudolph Hering Medal from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) for their paper "Nonaqueous Phase Liquid Pool Dissolution As A Function Of Average Pore Water Velocity," which was published in ASCE's Journal of Environmental Engineering in 2003 (Vol. 129, Issue 9, pages 786-799).

The award, consisting of a bronze medal and a certificate, was presented at the ASCE World Water and Environmental Resources Congress in Anchorage, Alaska, which was held May 15-19. The Rudolph Hering Medal was instituted and endowed in 1924 by the Sanitary Engineering Division (now the Environmental and Water Resources Institute) of ASCE, in honor of Rudolph Hering, past Vice President of the Society. The medal is awarded to the author(s) of the paper which contains the most valuable contribution to the increase of knowledge in, and to the advancement of, the environmental branch of the engineering profession.

Further information on the award and past winners can be found at the following:


Published June 29, 2005