News Story

Dr. Seagren And Student Tim Moore Awarded 2005 Rudolph Hering Medal

Dr. Seagren And Student Tim Moore Awarded 2005 Rudolph Hering Medal


Prof. Eric Seagren and his former M.S. student, Tim Moore, were awarded the 2005 Rudolph Hering Medal from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) for their paper "Nonaqueous Phase Liquid Pool Dissolution As A Function Of Average Pore Water Velocity," which was published in ASCE's Journal of Environmental Engineering in 2003 (Vol. 129, Issue 9, pages 786-799).

The award, consisting of a bronze medal and a certificate, was presented at the ASCE World Water and Environmental Resources Congress in Anchorage, Alaska, which was held May 15-19. The Rudolph Hering Medal was instituted and endowed in 1924 by the Sanitary Engineering Division (now the Environmental and Water Resources Institute) of ASCE, in honor of Rudolph Hering, past Vice President of the Society. The medal is awarded to the author(s) of the paper which contains the most valuable contribution to the increase of knowledge in, and to the advancement of, the environmental branch of the engineering profession.

Further information on the award and past winners can be found at the following:

June 29, 2005

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Goulias to Chair International Multidisciplinary Symposium

UMD Resilience Experts Share Best Practices with Chinese Delegation

UMD, USDA Partnership Puts Student Research Into Action

G.B. Baecher to Speak at Annual Meeting of the Geotechnical Society of Edmonton

QUEST Celebrates 25th Anniversary

Jose Torero Called as Expert Witness for Grenfell Tower Inquiry

UMD Solar Decathlon Team Takes 1st Place in the U.S., 2nd Place in the World

Allen P. Davis to Chair National Academies Committee

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar

Additional Resources

UM Newsdesk

Faculty Experts